Members of the Arena Art Group have up to four opportunities a year to exhibit their work in a variety of group shows. All shows accept two-dimensional work and several also accept three-dimensional pieces. While some shows allow for multiple pieces from all members, others will limit the number of participants as well as the number of works from each artist. This is usually based on the physical size of the exhibit space we have contracted for. The mission of the group is to further the understanding and appreciation of abstract art in all it’s varied forms. Members are encouraged to complete work that explores imaginative and current subject matter, which is visually strong, intellectually stimulating and professionally executed and exhibited.

Arena Art Group Steering Committee

Chair: Dan Scally
Vice Chair: Jono Peterson
Scribe: Constance Mauro
Minister of Finance: Jeffery Young
Exhibitions : Betsy Phillips

Membership: RJ Miller

Grand Member: Courtney Gruttadauria

Membership: RJ Miller

Exhibition Chair/Design: Betsy Phillips

Exhibition/Hanging Committee :Jim Thomas, Richard Harvey, Jappie King Black, Phyllis Hackleman
Media Liaison: Peter Sucy
Purveyors of Exhibition Venues: Jono Peterson,
Membership: RJ Miller
Historian: ?
Catering/Hosts:  Jono Peterson, Karen Frutiger
Website Administrator: Melissa Moody

Membership Requirements

Arena Art Group accepts new member applications twice a year during the spring and fall. Members are required to pay yearly dues of $60.00, attend a general meeting twice per year and volunteer for a committee or an activity that matches the individual’s skills.

Click Here to download a copy of the Membership Application in Word format.
Click Here to download a copy of the Membership Application in PDF format.

Your application packet should include the following:
A. $25 check made payable to Arena Art Group
B. Applicant Overview that includes:

        1. Name of Candidate
        2. Address
        3. Contact info: address, email, phone, website
        4. CV or resume, preferably in digital format
        5. Artist Statement, brief (one paragraph)
C. Art Submissions in digital form – CD or thumb drive
        1. Include 10 to 15 images
        2. Include only work completed in the last five years
        3. Choose your strongest medium and aesthetic
        4. Crop all images to show only the piece
        5. Pieces should be photographed on a grey or black background
        6. 3D pieces may be shown in different views
        7. Label and title each photograph
        8. Include dimensions for each work
        9. Note the year each piece was completed
        10. Arrange photographs from most current to older
        11.  Label CD or thumb drive with your name and date and protected in a case

Submissions should be mailed to:

Membership Chairperson
Arena Art Group, P.O.Box #18603
Rochester, N.Y. 14618

Membership Review Procedure

Upon receipt of your packet the Membership Chairperson checks the contents will notify the artist  of receipt of the materials. The Membership Committee may request an interview with the applicant before recommending the artist to the next stage. The packet is then presented at the next Steering Committee meeting for a vote. If the artist is accepted by the Steering Committee the application is then presented at the general group meeting for a general vote. The Membership Chairperson will notify the artist within 48 hours of the decision.

Current Members:

Amm, Sophia,
Brunner, Zanne
Chait, Stu (Portfolio Designer)
Cooley, Loraine
Feldman, Lynne
Fox, Barbara
Gohringer, Judy Stewart
Gold, Alice
Gruttadauria, Courtney (Poster Patrol)
Hackleman, Phyllis
Harris, Michael
Harvey, Richard (Exhibitions)
Jeter, Sharon
King Black, Jappie (Exhibitions Committee)
Levinson, Steven
Locke, Sharon
Martin, Cheryl Amati (Photographer/Documenter)
Mauro, Constance
Miller, R.J. (Membership Contact)

Moody, Melissa
Notides-Benzing, Jane
Peterson, Jono Co-Chair
Phillips, Betsy (Design, Exhibitions Committee, Steering Committee)
Roepke, Sidonie Merkel
Root, Elisa
Scally, Dan (Co-Chair, Steering Committee)
Schermerhorn, Martha
Sheller, g.a.
Sucy, Peter J. (Media Liaison)                                                                            
Thomas, Jim (Exhibition Committee)
Tulloch, Sherry L. 
Valle, Nancy
Wolsky, Jack
Wolsky-Carson, Marsha
Young, Jeffery (Minister of Finance, Steering Committee)